National Ability Supports System (NASS)

The National Ability Supports System (NASS) captures information about disability service use and need to aid the planning, development and organisation of disability services in Ireland.  

How NASS data is collected

Data collection for the NASS is carried out via an online web-based system (NASS LINK).

If your service provides disability funded services, it is very important that you participate in the NASS so that there is a complete overview of the service use and need of persons with disability in Ireland.

To participate in the NASS, please request training on NASS LINK by contacting:

Mary O'Gorman
National Health Information Systems
t +353 1 230 3204



The NASS data collection form captures:

  • administrative details;
  • demographic details;
  • primary carer information;
  • detail of disability and diagnosis(es);
  • current service use and unmet service need (residential, respite, day, supports for daily living and specialist supports);
  • current use of and unmet need for assistive products; and
  • outcomes.

NASS data collection form – PDF


The NASS information leaflet is available in PDF below along with Irish and Polish translations, Irish sign language (ISL) and Easy to Read versions.

NASS information leaflet (Plain English approved by NALA, National Adult Literacy Agency)

An ISL version of the NASS information leaflet is available on the HRB LINK YouTube channel:

Easy to read (approved by information transformers from St Michael’s House and Inclusion Ireland)



The NASS data dictionary expands on the items or fields collected in the NASS Data collection form or on Link                                                                                                            



NASS advisory committee

Ms Deirdre Comiskey (Chairperson)
Disability Unit
Mr Billy McCarthy (Secretary)
Disability Services Unit
Mr Thomas Morrin
Disability Services Unit
Ms Eithne Fitzgerald
Disability Services Unit
Ms Angela Moran
Mr Colm Moroney
Dr Sarah Craig
Mr David Hallinan
National Disability Authority
Mr Alan Breathnach
National Council for
the Blind Ireland
Ms Cathy McGrath
Ms Paula Mugnier
Representing FedVol
HRB rotational
Ms Anne O'Donohoe
Ms Sarah Fanagan
Ms Mary O'Gorman
Ms Nicola Caffery
Dr Claire Casey
Dr Michael O'Sullivan