Committee members

The NREC COVID-19 is tasked with reviewing research ethics applications for COVID-19-related health research, where an expedited approach is essential for timely commencement of a research study on public health grounds.

The Committee is appointed by and reports to the Minister for Health.

The Committee is made up of a range of expert and non-expert members that cover a wide range of disciplines. If required, the Committee Chair may seek additional expert advice when reviewing applications to ensure that the Committee is provided with independent and adequate expert opinion to ensure that decisions are made in an informed manner.

19 Personnel

  • Professor Mary Donnelly

    Committee Member

    School of Law, UCC

  • Professor Tom Fahey

    Committee Member

    Department of General Practice, RCSI

  • Ms Sharon Foley

    Committee Member

    CEO Irish Hospice Foundation

  • Ms Caoimhe Gleeson

    Committee Member

    National Programme Lead, Assisted Decision Making/National Specialist in Accessibility, HSE

  • Professor Andrew Green

    Committee Member

    Professor of Medical Genetics, School of Medicine, University College Dublin, Our Lady’s Hospital Crumlin

  • Professor Mary Horgan

    Committee Chair

    Consultant Physician in Cork University Hospital and Professor in the School of Medicine, University College Cork; President of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland and President of the Infectious Diseases Society of Ireland.

  • Mr Gavin Lawler

    Committee Member

    Radiation Therapist and Clinical Trials Co-ordinator Team Leader for oncology clinical trials at Beacon Hospital, Dublin

  • Professor Patrick Manning

    Committee Member

    Respiratory & Sleep Medicine Consultant, Bon Secours Hospital Dublin, St. Francis Hospital Mullingar, and Associate Professor Medicine at RCSI

  • Professor Hannah McGee

    Committee Vice-Chair

    Dean of the Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences at RCSI

  • Ms Grainne McGettrick

    Committee Member

    Acquired Brain Injury Ireland

  • Ms Dympna Moran

    Committee Member

    Retired; formerly of Dublin Northwest Area Partnership

  • Professor Suzanne Norris

    Committee Member

    Consultant Hepatologist at St James’s Hospital; Professor in Gastroenterology & Hepatology, TCD

  • Dr Donal O'Gorman

    Committee Member

    Director of the Centre for Preventive Medicine, DCU; Interim Director of the National Institute for Cellular Biotechnology DCU

  • Professor Shaun O’Keefe

    Committee Member

    Department of Geriatric Medicine, Galway University Hospitals

  • Dr Jean Saunders

    Committee Member

    Director CSCS (Claddagh Statistical Consultancy Services) Ltd, Vice-Chair UHL Group REC, Limerick & Adviser Science & Engineering Faculty REC, University of Limerick

  • Professor Orla Sheils

    Committee Member

    Dean of The Faculty of Health Sciences, Professor of Molecular Diagnostics, Faculty of Health Sciences, Trinity College Dublin

  • Professor Anthony Staines

    Committee Vice-Chair

    Professor of Health Systems, School of Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health, DCU

  • Dr Akke Vellinga

    Committee Member

    Epidemiologist and Senior Lecturer, School of Medicine, NUI Galway; Chair of the ICGP Research Ethics Committee

  • Mr John Woods

    Committee Member

    Data Protection Officer, St. Patrick’s Mental Health Services, St. Patrick’s University Hospital, Dublin