Top level navigation

Breadcrumb to current page

Main content

Irish SRA

An Irish Strategic Research Agenda (SRA) for Neurodegenerative Diseases is now being developed. It will map the existing national R&D activity, and use this information to develop a coordinated national programme which is relevant to the EU-wide activities, but also relevant to national needs and expertise.   To oversee this process,   HRB/SFI has appointed a National Steering Committee (SC) to: 

  • Review Ireland's portfolio in neurodegeneration in the light of other Irish activities and the needs and opportunities for research and training; and to recommend a medium to long-term (5 to 10 years) strategy for neurodegeneration research in Ireland across the basic, clinical and social domains.
  • Advise on the most appropriate structure for future investments (e.g. research programmes, involvement with EU actions) to deliver this strategy.

HRB appointed Dr Jim Ryan of CIRCA Group Europe Ltd to assist in mapping current activity, and also in facilitating the process of developing the SRA.  

Composition of Steering Committee

Mr Enda Connolly, Health Research Board (Chair)
Mr Pat Kelly, Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation
Dr Brian Caulfield, TRIL (Technology Research for Independent Living) Centre
Dr Caitriona Creely, Health Research Board
Professor Brian Lawlor, St James?s Hospital
Dr Sean Mulvany, Enterprise Ireland
Dr Stephen Simpson, Science Foundation Ireland
Mr Michael Smith, Department of Health and Children
Professor Dominic Walsh, University College Dublin
Dr Manus Ward, Science Foundation Ireland
Professor Michael Rowan, Trinity College Dublin
Professor RoseAnne Kenny, TILDA (The Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing)
Professor Orla Hardiman, Beaumont Hospital
Dr Cora O'Neill, University College Cork
Professor Shane O'Mara, Trinity College Dublin
Professor Eamon O'Shea, National University of Ireland, Galway
Dr Gemma Irvine, Higher Education Authority
Dr Magali Haas, Johnson & Johnson
Dr Niamh Scannell, Intel
Mr Maurice O'Connell, The Alzheimer Society of Ireland
Professor Michael Farrell, Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland and Beaumont Hospital
Dr Marion Rowland, Health Service Executive*
Mr Bill Brandon, Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation*

* former members

Search the HRB website

Other information and links