Top level navigation

Breadcrumb to current page

Main content

News story

HRB welcomes new Board Members

30 September 2007

Dr. Reg Shaw is the new Chairperson of the HRB

New HRB Chairman, Mr Reg Shaw

The HRB has welcomed the appointment of a new Board which will be chaired by Dr Reg Shaw, Director of the Wyeth Biotech Campus, one of the largest integrated biotech facilities in the world. Dr Shaw has made some major contributions to the development of health research in Ireland, in particular through his role on the Health Research Task Force of the Advisory Council for Science Technology and Innovation.


There will be nine other members of the Board including:

Professor Catherine Godson, Conway Institute, University College Dublin.

Professor Frances Ruane, Director, Economic and Social Research Institute.

Mr Michael Griffith, Chief Executive of Fighting Blindness and Chairman of IPPOSI.

Dr Conor Burke, Head of Department, Respiratory Medicine. James Connolly Memorial Hospital.

Mr Brian Sweeney, Chairman of the Siemens Group Ireland and Deputy-Chairman of ICSTI.

Dr Tony Holohan, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health and Children.

Dr Ena Prosser, Partner in Fountain Healthcare Partners, a new venture capital firm.

Professor Michael Kerins, Professor of Surgery, UCHG and NUIG.

Mr Brian Kearney, Co-founder of PM (Project Management Group).

Search the HRB website

Other information and links